current | archives | profile | email | notes | design | diaryland

Notes on Friendship

Today I would like to chat about the importance of having good friends around you. Good friends are like...

...like good friends, because you can't compare them to anything material.

It's for this reason that, wherever one may be in the world, friends will be by their side, in reality, or in the mind. People are built on externals. Its a fact that most people will be happier if the sun is shining. I would be a different person, no doubt, had my parents not separated, or even had I been raised in a mountain village somewhere in the Far East. That's why stereotypes exist, because people are affected by surroundings. For this reason, surroundings can sure alter the balance of things. I've been in paradise. There were fireworks on a beach at midnight on New Year's and I was sitting with my brother sipping beers and listening to the gentle waves lap up against the shore. Within all of that, what made me happiest was that my brother was sitting next to me, and what made me saddest, was that my friends were half way round the world.

In contrast, hellish conditions, such as muddy trenches, where the fireworks are aiming for you and you are surrounded by death and destruction can only be bearable through the bond that is created between two people. Fortunately, I'm not talking from experience this time, but that bond between two people is simple, whether it's during war or peace: it's friendship.

You've heard it before: people never have enough to satisfy them. The richest person will always want more money, and perhaps thats why however much pizza I've had, I won't stop till it's all gone . . .

The point is, before all that, people are what matter. Take the roof from over your head, the meals from your plates and the clothes from your body. (Don't get too carried away here.) You'll want them back for sure, but take away the people around you, and you'll want them first, before anything else.

========================

To my friends :)

You know who you are, because I will always make sure of it.

========================

written @ 12:09 a.m. on 2003-02-07