current | archives | profile | email | notes | design | diaryland

The Beautiful Game

I really should have my own show. Really really. Seriously, if I had to create a television show to last an hour, and would be shown round the world, what would it be? What would I say? Would I say anything at all? Is it worth trying to change the world? Lots of questions. So many questions. Fuck it then. I'll write an hour long episode of Friends, sit back, and enjoy. Either that or I would negotiate 90 minutes and show England-Germany 5-1 again.

Ha.

Ha ha.

Ha ha ha.

So anyway . . .

England beat Turkey tonight at football. They say football is like war without guns. Now, how could I not talk about that!? Like this...

I like football. I really do. My friends find it hard to believe that I can like a sport even if I didn't spend my childhood collecting stickers and persuading my parents to buy me shirts every six months. From an objective view however, I also like the way football unites and divides people. Sure, its a shame when fans don't realise that a match NEEDS two teams. However, during events like the World Cup, it's still pretty amazing seeing pictures of thousands of people gathered in the street either celebrating a common cause or watching in awe at 11 ordinary but extraordinarily talented men kicking a ball around on a bit of grass. It's not really amazing how football grabs people's attention. It's not scientific; football is and always will be a beautiful game. However, all the people watching the game shows how powerful numbers can be. It's almost like the million marchers who took to the streets to protest against the war.

Still trying to find the actual point. I'm sure it's somewhere in my head amongst all the cooking oil and THC. Just...if you want to see what I'm talking about, just be alive during the next world cup. Watch the matches. Watch when England, France, Germany, Italy, and Brazil play. Although watch also the countries who you wouldn't expect to be entertained by. Last World Cup, seeing the first France vs. Senegal match, the atmosphere was wonderful and my school's eyes were all pointing the same way. Watching the Chinese population in celebration and awe, at losing! They were just glad to be part of something so special. So next time, watch the world cup, and even if you don't like football, you won't be able to escape the atmosphere and hopefully, you'll notice the potential of the human race united.

I rule at football. I am the best in my school........

Just cos I tripped that one time on my way to the pitch doesn't mean anything. And just so people know, it's confusing having two IDENTICAL goals at either end! Next time, I'm going to beat you I swear. Anyone who challenges me. Once I have recovered from my injury. I damaged my arm muscles you see. It's those handles, on the table-football...

Oh I was talking about what I would do with my hour wasn't I? Hmm... I'll come back to that later. Email me if you have any ideas.

5-1

Haha.

written @ 1:14 a.m. on 03 April, 2003