current | archives | profile | email | notes | design | diaryland

Wish Upon A Weinstein

I reckon, since there are so many Jewish film and television producers, they feel the need to say "I think it's time we did the Jewish episode," during the third series, where all the characters encounter Judaism and the producers take over. I'm still waiting for them to do it in Songs Of Praise...

So here's a Jewish diary entry, although don't be too surprised because this is my diary, and I'm Jewish. Well I've just been thinking about it since it's the new year and everything. I think it is misunderstood by some people. The idea that we thank G-d and then repent for our sins; it's all a bit theatrical for me really.

Still, the New Year's Resolution is a brilliant, and more familiar idea, because it asks you to took towards yourself. I beleive that actually, that's what Rosh Hashana should be about too. Being that prayer is a fantastic concentration aid, and arguably a form of meditation, sure thanking G-d is merely reflecting on what you are grateful for, and asserting the values you hold in life. If you are to repent it makes a lot of sense that you are required to decide what you hold dear before hand, and that way you'll mean it.

Personally, I find sticking to a resolution a hairs breadth away from impossible. But, I think, if you're going to bother to pray next year, or ever, it might be worth reflecting beforehand. That way, you might be able to benefit yourself and if your're lucky, others around you. Rather than emerging having gained nothing...

written @ 10:28 p.m. on 13 October, 2003